Washington State's 7th Congressional District

Washington’s 7th congressional district encompasses most of Seattle and Burien and all of Vashon Island, Lake Forest Park, Edmonds, Shoreline, and Normandy Park. Since 2017, the 7th District has been represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Pramila Jayapal, a Democrat.

The 7th is the most Democratic district in the Pacific Northwest and the most Democratic district on the West Coast outside of the San Francisco Bay Area or Los Angeles. It is also the most Democratic majority-white district in the United States. Democrats dominate every level of government, and routinely win elections by well over 70 percent of the vote. Al Gore swept the 7th District in 2000 with 72% of the vote while John Kerry won 79% of the vote in the district in 2004. Barack Obama took in 84% of the vote in the district in 2008.

Washington’s seventh seat in the U.S. House was added following the 1950 census, but the state did not immediately reapportion. It was contested as a statewide at-large seat for three elections: 1952, 1954, and 1956; and voters cast ballots for two congressional seats, their district and the at-large. Democrat Donald H. Magnuson won all three at-large elections. The 1958 election was the first after the state reapportioned to seven districts; Magnuson was elected to the new district in 1958 and 1960, but lost in 1962.

Click the banner below for more information.

Washington State Senators

The two current United States Senators from Washington are Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell, both Democrats. Murray has represented the state since 1993, while Cantwell was first elected in 2001. The state is one of six with two female senators.

Click the banners below for more information.

Close Search Window